Dracula, Steampunk or Goth ?

4 09 2012

Now this is a tough one and I really need your input to settle this……
Dracula, Steampunk or Goth ?

Now let us go back to the source,
We are talking 1897 ( wow, Victorian era, Steampunk ? ) and by the hands of the Irish writer Bram Stoker the horror novel Dracula is written.

It’s main character is Count Dracula, a vampire living in Transylvania ( Romania ) who is looking to relocate to England ( again 1897, England ? )

This count Dracula being a vampire lives during the night and sleeps during the day.
He dresses in black and red a lot and lives in a run down castle ( Goth, Goth and Steampunk ? )

The original account of Dracula in Bram Stoker’s novel deals with Victorian era, colonial times and post colonial times. Here again you could both argue for Steampunk and Goth.

Now this novel has been written, re-written, filmed and re-filmed many, many times and until today it still captures the mind of many..

So in all fairness, I would say 50% / 50%

What do you think ?

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 09 2012
Kedar Joyner

Great question! I’m actually reading this novel for the first time; it’s incredible and way more scary than I anticipated. I would vote that it’s more Goth than Steampunk, but I think deeming it 50/50 is also very reasonable. I feel like it lacks the sort of gunge-esque vibe that’s often associated with steampunk media. The description Stoker uses for landscape, dialogue, and people is much more poetic and highly dramatic.

4 09 2012
Steampunk Store Europe

Kedar,

You have a way with words. Gunge-esque, nice ! ( you must be a writer )
My English needs some work as it’s not my first language ( sorry )
I hope you enjoy the novel ( are you reading the original ? )

Let me know if you enjoyed it

Mike

4 09 2012
Kedar Joyner

Mike,

I’m reading the original version! I love it so far. I think I’m over half way done. Can’t wait to read more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

